Treatment

The name of the project is hidden.
The target audience for this project can be any age, as long as the context of the pictures are understood. Even though I want to go down the horror genre, this may not scare the younger viewers. The gender in which this will be aimed at is both genders as this wont be affected by what I want to do within my project. The demographic of a person also doesn’t matter in this case as it will be for everyone. Based on the research, both primary and secondary, I conducted I know that the target audience is PG. This is because the pictures I’m going to take are on the horror side but this might not scare a young child depending on the mask.
Based on the research I conducted I realised that with my primary research people perspective is someone being invisible when they are hidden. I can tell this as invisible has a higher percentage of picks over masked/hooded and buried. With this type of information I want to be able to prove to the people who took the survey that there are many other ways in which the word hidden can be interpreted. This is another reason why I want to go down the masked/hooded type of poster, to show people that it doesn’t always mean the person not being there.
Based on secondary research I have gathered that based on the theme its better to use a dark room or natural light of outside to keep a theme. With also doing the many different secondary research I gathered that there is also many other ways in which a persons face could be hidden e.g. hats, use of smoke and other equipment like cameras. A lot of the pictures are also determined by the lighting, costumes, props and location can all play a part in whether the pictures are correlating with the genre e.g. horror- naturally an instinct is going to think dark lighting and dark costumes, almost like a soul which is where location comes into it as too get the scare factor would typically be a dark room. This research also helped me what kind of lighting id want, getting a low shot and showing only part of the face may give off the added effects.
The reason for me doing this type of research is because my idea is to create a poster of someone wearing a mask, with this the hood being up. The inspiration I have took is the smoke part. I’m going to use something similar too fill up the hood and around the person but the lower parts too add effect of the genre I had chosen to go down within my ideas at the start of the project. While the primary research also helped in realising that I could show people another part of what hidden can also mean.
The whole idea that I have in mind is too use the darkness of my living room, with this allowing me to have any light as I want to make the character at least somewhat see able while having their hood being full of smoke, possibly. The genre I want to take down is horror so I possibly may use a clown mask or I may use another way in which could stay within the horror genre. I’m also going to try many different camera angles to try and get the best photo from the idea, from then ill choose the best one and then create a poster. The poster showing what could be expected if it was to be created into a film.
The equipment that I will need is a DSLR camera and possibly a light. The resources I need is a mask and some smoke for the added effects within the horror I want to create. The locations I could potentially take photos at is the photograph room in college or at home in the living room as the photograph room can be dark but has a lot of lights which could benefit the pictures and the same reason for the living room. The cast/crew I need is a model and the person occupying the camera, will be me.
The amount of time that this will take is approximately 6 to 7 weeks. 5 weeks to research and plan. While the production could take a few days and the remaining weeks spent in pre-production.
The budget for this film is £1500.

Leave a comment