Research: Audiences interest

The research i need to complete is based on the genre horror because this is the genre i want to go down. I need to know what ages would mostly be interested in a new horror film, what social class are more likely to watch (lower, medium and higher) and the gender. The reason why I need to find this out is so that when I’m creating the poster for the film then I need to aim it at these type of people, so the more people are interested by the poster will possibly watch the film.

https://www.bfi.org.uk/sites/bfi.org.uk/files/downloads/bfi-opening-our-eyes-2011-07.pdf

In the link above on page 29 there was a survey completed that asked what film genre is preferred with statistics of male and female. With this options for the minority ethnic group and also white. From this I found that 27% of people watched a horror film, males percentage being 33% while female was 38% and white 27%. Also ethnic minority being recorded at 31%. This is important to know because I can gather what type of people would possibly watch, mainly important the gender as I want to interest both genders.

https://www.bfi.org.uk/sites/bfi.org.uk/files/downloads/uk-film-council-portrayal-vs-betrayal-case-study.pdf

In the link about on page 105 the chart used states what 16 years and above like to watch the most (GB). Thriller/suspense is 53% of people while horror is 32%. This tells me I need to aim anything horror for ages 16+ and nothing below within my work. Also on page 106 there is a table that shows all the genres but also the last part shoes the social class that is more likely to watch each genre. I can gather that the social class C2 is more likely to watch a film so I need to aim for this when trying to create a horror theme within my work.

 

 

Leave a comment